Thread: Grae: Opener

Grumpy Book Critic

Grae: Opener

I'm a new writer and I'm working on my first novel. I have some writing experience, but I've never tried something as BIG as a full length novel before. Therefore, I'd really appreciate any advice you guys have. This is the first 7 pages of my book. It's called Grae and it's about the eponymous extraterrestrial who finds himself pursued by the police after accidentally kidnapping a human. But that doesn't happen for a while, so here's the first part, in which he wakes up to find himself in a terrible mood.

Edit: All the formatting disappeared when I posted this. Any way to get it back?
    EditEdit: Upon Calidore's suggestion, I put whitespace between paragraphs. It should be a bit easier to read now.

A note to human readers: For your convenience, most dialogue, text, and measurements of time and distance have been translated to English as closely as possible. For help on Galactic Common linguistics and pronunciation, you may consult Kei-Ei-Bi-Koma!, a guide for the English speaker trying to learn Common. There is a short list of Common words, as well as an encyclopedia of various intelligent species, located near the end of this book.

“Mabi Short, are you ready to provide your defense?”

“No, but I'm as ready as I'll ever be.”

“Very well. Grae Short, after evading capture for approximately one Standard year, you now stand trial for the following crimes; Several counts of murder, vehicular theft, assaulting an officer of the Galactic Military Police Force, terrorism, disrupting Quati development on Sol-3, also known as Earth, resisting arrest, harboring a fugitive, kidnapping, and other, lesser crimes too numerous to mention. You may now provide your account of these accusations, that the court can make a fair and honest judgment and take necessary punitive action.”

“I'm going to have to start from the beginning. It's a long story.”

“I understand. You have as much time as you need to speak.”